Transgender Activist Faced Humiliation At Kolkata’s Tripty Bar

Tripty is an age-old bar cum restaurant situated in Kolkata’s Bhawanipore area, just beside Netaji Bhavan Metro Station. It is well-known for its cheap rate and good quality of food. But what Ranjita Sinha, a transgender activist of Kolkata and a member of the state’s Transgender board, faced on 23rd of January, will shock you to the core!

In Ranjita’s own words:

We have a re-union at my ex-school on 25/01/2017. So after I finished my days work, I met with some of my school mates at Tripty Bar & Restaurant on Asutosh Mukherjee Road near jagubazar on 23/01/2017 at around 10pm. As you know, I am a trangender activist as well as a member of West Bengal Transgender Board. Suddenly, we noticed that some waiters & staffs of the bar were passing lewd comments against me but we ignored initially. However, after sometime we decided to report it to the in-charge of the floor but our complaint went to deaf ears.

When the waiters & staffs noticed that our complaint has been unheard, they felt amused and started verbally abusing me. One of my non-community friend protested and got physically abused by all the waiters & staffs of the above mentioned bar cum restaurant. I intervened and I also got physically abused by all the waiters & staffs.

fb_img_1485281678719
Ranjita Sinha

As she wrote on her Facebook post:

It is very unfortunate that being a social activist & member of the transgender board, I had to face such an awful situation. I felt very unsafe. I felt bad because I am not only unable to protect myself, my self-esteem and my dignity but also my friends got abused because they protested for my cause.

We have lodged an FIR at the local police station i.e., Bhowanipur P.S. on that very night. But, the main culprits are at large. We want your kind intervention in this matter so that the culprits are arrested immediately & it serves as a exemplary lesson for the bar owners and also the transgender protection rights & dignity are ensured.

Hope our request will be honored.

Way to go, Ranjita. Keep fighting. More power to you.

Leave a Reply

